Skip to content

My Journey to HLS

August 19, 2011

In just a few short hours I will be making the drive to Philly to attend the Healthy Living Summit. This is the third year of the conference, but my first time attending. I signed up back at the beginning of the summer, having no idea where I would be or if I would even be able to attend. I hadn’t even started this blog! As luck (or fate?) would have it, I ended up in New Jersey, an easy drive from Philly.

(Source)

As the days got closer and closer to HLS, I felt the negative voice we all have in the back of our heads creeping into mine every day. It would say things like “you don’t deserve to go to something like because you’re overweight” or “everyone is going to wonder why you are there because you’re fat” and many other things I wouldn’t say to my worst enemy. It was to the point where I had basically talked myself out of going at all.

I wrote to two bloggers who I respect and asked their advice. They both unequivocally said I should go, and that people attending have been at all stages of weight loss/health journeys and that no one would think twice about my weight or why I was there.   As someone who grew up being teased and knew a lot of “mean girls”, having the courage to step blindly into an event like this would be a big step. So, I am choosing to believe them! I am turning off the fat talking, negative voice in my head and going for it. This is a huge deal for me. I wonder if anyone else  had any of these feelings?

This weekend, I am hoping to gain knowledge, inspiration, and most importantly, new encouraging friends. I’m not sure if I’ll be posting this weekend, but definitely expect a recap next week.

I am closing my eyes, believing in myself, and taking a leap of faith. I am choosing myself and my health. As Heather says, “make one healthy decision. now make another.” I’m hoping this decision will lead me to more and more healthy decisions.

Philly Bound!

Are you attending HLS?

When was a time you took a leap of faith?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2011 1:54 pm

    YOU.ARE.AWESOME.

  2. August 20, 2011 1:56 pm

    I’m so glad we got a chance to meet this weekend, and hope we have more time to chat later this afternoon!

  3. August 20, 2011 1:59 pm

    I’m so glad you are here. Healthy doesn’t mean skinny it mean making decisions that work for you in your life!

  4. Jessica @ Healthy Dairyland permalink
    August 20, 2011 2:14 pm

    Roomie, I am so glad you came to HLS and I got to meet you!!! I hope you are having a fantastic time!!!

  5. August 25, 2011 8:02 pm

    how is the new job, lady!? I am so excited to hear what you thought about HLS – sorry that we werent able to talk more (i was going through a few different things personally this weekend, which made me kind of hectic – plus with HLB and the panel, i was a bit busy!) I hope we can talk again soon! I did love the time we spent together! xoxo

Leave a Reply

