Skip to content

Doctor drama

June 15, 2011

So, today I went in for my first physical in roughly four years (thanks to crappy school insurance/doctors). Generously, my parents offered to help pay for it since I was clearly overdue.

The visit started out great. I liked the doctor, she seemed very thorough, she listened to me, and I didn’t feel rushed.

Then, it happened. “So what’s going on with your weight?” No tact, no polite intro, nothing. I shouldn’t have been so stunned, but I was. I told her a little bit about my struggles but went on to emphasize that I have changed my diet dramatically in the last 6 months and have taken up walking several times per week. Before I could continue on about my ongoing plans, she interrupted me and said “well you’ll have to do more than walking if you want to lose the kind of weight you need to!”. “You need to be working out HARD! There is a difference between effort and feeling truly sick. If you have chest pain that is a problem, but some people throw up from a good work out, that’s ok.”

Is it just me or are there several things wrong with this conversation?

There was a bit more to the visit, but I was in a haze after what she said. I got dressed and walked out to my car with a lump in my throat. I started to drive home and kept telling myself that she doesn’t know me and doesn’t know what I’ve been through or what I’ve done to start to change. But, about half way home I felt my lip quiver and the tears started to fall.

I’m bummed I let her get to me like that, but it was really painful. I am sure there was concern somewhere deep down (wayyyy down) underneath what she said, but I think she handled it really poorly. She wasn’t supportive. She didn’t offer me practical advice. She criticized me and my choices.

I think it’s time to find a different doctor.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2011 11:05 am

    Ugh. What a bitch bag. You rock!!!!

  2. August 10, 2011 11:47 am

    So sorry you had a bad doctor experience. I have ongoing health struggles (was diagnosed with hypothyroidism three years ago, but it is now appearing that that is not the issue). When I first started feeling sick in 2008, I went to 5 doctors before I found one that listened and didn’t tell me my symptoms were “all in my head” or that I needed to eat less and exercise more to lose weight and I’d be all better (even though I had gained 16 pounds in 7 weeks while eating 1300-1500 calories a day and maintaining my exercise levels, which anyone knows shouldn’t lead to that much unexplained weight gain…and that wasn’t my most serious symptom, anyways). So I completely understand the frustrations of trying to find a GOOD doctor. If you ever need to vent, feel free to email or gchat me, okay?

    • August 11, 2011 7:15 pm

      Thanks Julie 🙂 Those symptoms were obviously NOT “all in your head”. I’d definitely like to talk with you more – I just saw an Endocrine doctor this week.

Leave a Reply

